About Us

The ASEAN Studies Centre is devoted to research on issues that pertain to the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) as an institution and a process. The Centre is a part of the Institute of Southeast Asian Studies (ISEAS), a leading think tank dedicated to the study of trends and developments in Southeast Asia as a whole.



Association of Southeast Asian Nations

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) was established on 8 August 1967, with five founding members - Indonesia, Malaysia, the Phlipppines, Singapore and Thailand - signing the ASEAN Declaration (Bangkok Declaration) . Brunei Darussalam joined ASEAN in 1984, followed by Vietnam in 1995, Myanmar and Laos in 1997 and Cambodia in 1999.


ASEAN Foundation

The ASEAN Foundation was established by the ASEAN Leaders in December 1997 during ASEAN's 30th Anniversary Commemorative Summit to help bring about shared prosperity and a sustainable future to all 10 ASEAN Member Countries, namely, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Viet Nam.


The Habibie Center

The Habibie Center was founded by Bacharuddin Jusuf Habibie and family, as an independent, non-govermental and non-profit organization. Our vision is to promote the modernization and democratization of Indonesian society based on the morality and integrity of sound cultural and religious values.


Academia Sinica

Academia Sinica, the most preeminent academic institution in the Republic of China, was founded in 1928 to promote and undertake scholarly research in sciences and humanities. After the government moved to Taiwan in 1949, Academia Sinica was re-established in Taipei. The growth of Academia Sinica during the transition period was initially slow due to political instability and meager budgets.



Freedom, justice and solidarity are the basic principles underlying the work of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS). The KAS is a political foundation, closely associated with the Christian Democratic Union of Germany (CDU). As co-founder of the CDU and the first Chancellor of the Federal Republic of Germany, Konrad Adenauer (1876-1967) united Christian-social, conservative and liberal traditions.


IDRC Regional Office for Southeast and East Asia

A public corporation, IDRC was created by the Parliament of Canada in 1970 to help developing countries use science and knowledge to find practical, long-term solutions to the social, economic, and environmental problems they face. Support is directed toward building an indigenous research capacity to sustain the policies and technologies developing countries need to build healthier, more equitable, more prosperous societies.


Centre for Liveable Cities

The Centre for Liveable Cities (CLC) was established in June 2008 by the Ministry of National Development and the Ministry of the Environment and Water Resources of Singapore. The Centre brings together Singapore's expertise on sustainable urban development across public and private sectors. It aims to distil and develop Singapore's experience in good governance, integrated urban planning, effective resource management, affordable quality housing, efficient transport management and environmental sustainability.


The Global Foundation

The Global Foundation is a citizens' organization with extensive private sector membership, based in Australia. Fully independent of government and funded by its members, The Global Foundation promotes high-level thinking within Australia and cooperation between Australia and the world. It works with government and institutions, the private sector, academia and the community, to help shape longer term solutions to great challenges.